Back in the saddle

IMG_20140626_114258
Bike path beside the velodrome in Trexlertown, PA

My last post started with: It has been 2 1/2 years since I went to school, and this post is going to start with: It has been 2 years since I wrote a blog post.

There have been many times when I wanted to update this space in the last couple years, but it felt so official and so permanent, and most of my decisions over the last couple years have been anything but.

When I returned to Calgary and to school after the Olympics, I fell in love with “life after sport”. I was sleeping easily again after years of troubled sleep, I didn’t have to worry about how my legs felt every-single-day, and I could eat breakfasts without any protein! Mostly, though, I was just happy being Monique again, instead of always Monique-the-bike-the-racer. After 11 years of chasing my Olympic dream, I was happy pursuing new goals and I did not think I would return to bike racing.

I was wrong! Last winter I started to wonder if I had made the right choice, and a voice inside grew louder and louder until I knew that I had to get back on my bike.

I have been back racing since May 2014 and my fitness has returned stronger than before! (I’m not exaggerating, my peak power has already increased since before London!) Mostly I am happy because racing bikes, and more importantly, the training for racing bikes, has become fun again, and I am able to appreciate the incredible opportunities that life in sport has to offer.

I am really looking forward to sharing my stories in this space again, and I hope you enjoy following along!

DSC_0658
Pan American Championships 2014: I won gold!
3 thoughts on “Back in the saddle

  1. You ar emaking me think abou it again as a Master having stopped after the 2011 Worlds Track in Manchester.Although riding regularly is fun…there is something about racing and the high associated with it that I miss.

Leave a Reply

