Leaving on Monday!

(L-R) Rich, Zach, Laura, Gillian, Monique, Tara, Jasmin, Joseph, Tanya, Johnny- Photo Richard Wooles

On Monday we leave for Europe. In 3 weeks I will compete in my first ever Olympic event. How do I explain everything I am feeling right now?

I can’t.

I can tell you that I am extremely excited and I can’t wait to get there. At the same time, I don’t want it to come, because I don’t want it to be over. The last six months have been my best ever on a bike. I love the team and the people on it and the training has been hard and satisfying. Every day has a purpose and the most important part of my day is always a bike ride.

In one month’s time we will all be at home sitting on the couch wondering what to do with our day. (Well, I want to camping, but after that, I have no idea what happens next.)

It is so strange that it is finally here, for so long it has been in the future, always on my mind, always present, but never here.

So what do we do now that it’s finally here?

We wake up. We eat breakfast and drink coffee and ride our bikes. We stretch, roll, watch race videos, shower, eat, and try to rest.  Our routine continues as usual. No, this is not just another race. But our jobs are the same. And I am doing everything so that on August 3rd, 5th, 6th and 7th, I can wake up and ride my bike the very best I can. Whatever happens is out of my control. I do not know how anyone else will ride. But my goal is to get to that start line, embrace my nerves and racing heart, and ride my bike as smart, fast and powerful as I can.

It is the opportunity of a lifetime and I am so grateful I get to take part.

I can’t wait.

 

 

I don’t know if my events will be on TV, but I think all events will be streaming online on CTV and NBC, depending on where you’re watching from.

My first event will be the keirin competition on August 3rd.

My 2nd event will be the sprint  competition held on August 5th, 6th, and 7th.

Be sure to watch my teammates!!!

  • Zach Bell competes in the omnium August 4th and 5th
  • Women’s Team Pursuit on August 3rd and 4th
  • Tara Whitten in the Omnium August 6th and 7th
  • And Joseph Veloce in the keirin August 7th
Leave a Reply

