World Championships

The World Championships are over for me. (We have one more Canadian competing, Tara Whitten is looking good in the omnium which continues tomorrow.) It was very short this year because I only qualified for the sprints but it was still a valuable learning tool for me moving forward.

In the past the keirins have been my best event and this year we put most of our emphasis on them. My 200 and match sprint tactics were put on the back burner so we could really focus in on a few elements of the keirin. But as the season progressed, I seemed to keep improving in the sprints and was unable to put together a good keirin. In this last month before worlds, when I realized that I didn’t even qualify for the keirin at worlds- a very big disappointment- we had the opportunity to step back and focus on my sprinting. In came lots of sessions working on my approach, my warm up and my tactics. With some thorough experimenting, (the scientist in me really enjoyed this part) we discovered some cool things that I was able to implement this week such as an easier warm up and a slower approach.

Coming into the race I knew I could perform well and I think I performed that way. Not spectacular but I beat several riders I had never beat before, and I am improving one step at a time. I finished 15th.

Up next are the Pan Am Championships in Colombia May 1st-5th, so my season isn’t over yet. Pan Ams are very important for Olympic Points and I think I can do well there.

Thanks for following along!

Monique

PS for more photos look here.

Leave a Reply

