Two down, two to go

The first two World Cups of the season have come and gone and both were very different.

The first one was in beautiful Australia. It was gorgeous outside with fresh spring air, we could ride to the track whenever we wanted and the announcers were great.
But the racing was disappointing. So much build up and I just didn’t perform how I wanted to. I didn’t know what to think. I didn’t want to have to think about how it didn’t happen this time but next time will be better and it’s only the first one. I didn’t want to have to build myself up again for the next World Cup. I just wanted to have a good race.
But I had to think these things, I only had two weeks until my next race and I had to be positive.

So I stayed quiet, as I usually do when I am disappointed or upset, and I just got back to work. I tried not to think too much about it, I trusted my training and believed that when things come together I would get a good race.

Next up was the World Cup in Cali, Colombia. The sprints were first and I did really well. I did my 2nd fastest 200m time ever! Not only did I do a good ride for me, but it was good enough for 8th place. Finally, finally, I was in the mix. I qualified faster than girls I’ve never beat before and I was happy. Since I qualified I moved on to the match sprint tournament, and I got to ride four sprints. It was really fun to think about each race and how I could win it and race confidently. It was a really good day.

The next day were the keirins and I didn’t get through to the 2nd round. I was disappointed. But I have to remember it is going to be a fight for every single Olympic Point, and that I will have good and bad races. (I will write another post explaining how the qualification works.) But I am really happy for the step forward in the sprints.

Now I am home for Christmas and together with both my brother and sister for the first time in about 3 years! It has been a very busy holiday but full of good company and lots of love.

I wish you all a very Happy New Year full of love, joy and hopefully some bike riding!!

Before the 200m time trial in Melbourne
The velodrome in Cali, Colombia
Quickly packing up my bikes after my last workout at home. Back to LA tomorrow!
My cousin Joel!
Leave a Reply

