Pan Am Trials

After the World Championships I flew straight to LA for trials for the Pan American Championships in May. And let me tell you, after racing at worlds, the last thing I wanted to do was trials, but I hadn’t automatically qualified (top 8 in an Olympic discipline at a World Cup and my highest was 9th) so I had to go. Because of my schedule the past month, I haven’t been able to do proper training in a while and was sort of “peaking” for about 3 weeks before the trials. Well, one can only hold onto their form for so long before it starts to fade away.

My 200m time trial was quite poor, (I didn’t make the standard, but I made it at Worlds and they are using that as my qualification) but I did a mass start trial and made the standard! (Which means I qualified for the points race and scratch race.) I will not participate in these events at Pan Ams but it was really fun for me to do something different, and also see that even though I do the short stuff I am still fit.

I am very happy to say that I am home now, for almost a month! I started my very first quilt today and I am very excited about it.

The Endurance boys listening to some instructions for the team pursuit
The Endurance boys listening to some instructions for the team pursuit

In other news, I rented a car as an under 25 and with no driver’s licence, for which I was pleased but very surprised about.

Leave a Reply

