For better or for worse

I think it takes me longer to get over jet leg than I let on. Because I’ve been back for a week and a half and today is the first day I have really felt like me again. It was a recovery day so I went grocery shopping and I can’t tell you how much I love Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.

Did you know that baking soda costs NINETY NINE CENTS?! I have been here for two months and have not been baking because I didn’t think it was worth buying everything necessary. But today I actually looked and low and behold, these things aren’t very expensive. So I made a lovely batch of Kumquat and Chocolate Chip oatmeal cookies with pecans. (Exactly this recipe, plus about ½ cup roasted pecans, and I used whole wheat flour) And I enjoyed every minute. The chopping, the mixing, the sun shining through the kitchen window. Taking my time and enjoying how pretty everything looks together.

bowlcookies

These cookies are a little bit rich from the chocolate, nicely tart from the kumquats, chewy from the oats and crunchy from the nuts. A very nice cookie, not too sweet cookie. It’s a quick recipe except for the kumquat chopping and well worth it. My host Arcelia mentioned that I will never get divorced (when I get married) because my husband will stay with me for my cooking. So there you go. For better or for worse cookies!

P.S. For an even easier treat, mix some raw almond butter with a touch of vanilla and stuff into a medjool date. You won’t believe how yummy and satisfying it is! (from here)

8 thoughts on “For better or for worse

  1. Well I was thinking that right now I am riding 8 times per week and eating at least 21 times so I should talk about food most of the time, just to be realistic 😉

  2. I think it took me a week and a half to get over jetlag too! My parents were visiting last week and I asked if I could still blame things on jetlag after 8 days, and my mom said NO! But I disagree. Maybe it is because we weren’t over the first jetlag when we left Denmark, so the effects got compounded. Anyway, the cookies look great, I’m glad you are baking.

  3. Awesome…we will have to try…and sooooo healthy! Someone very special made the stuffed dates for me~yummy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

