Reunion

Belgian Waffle Cookies
I think it’s really special when you haven’t seen someone for a long time to catch up and realize why you were friends so long ago. To remember what brought you together so long ago, and what keeps you connected today. Or, to see what brought you together so long ago and why it no longer does.

Over the holidays I met with my godparents who I had not seen for a very long time. In fact, it has been so long since I had seen them, I realized I hardly knew them at all. My strongest memory of them from childhood was when we went over for Sunday Dinner and my Godmother served black chicken and Rice a Roni. This started a Rice a Roni craze for the rest of my childhood.

This time around we ate Christmas cookies, and the most wonderful homemade Belgian waffle cookies and caught up a little bit. It felt like I was in my dad’s hometown visiting old relatives. It was a really nice afternoon.

One thought on “Reunion

Leave a Reply

